Minutes of the Executive Council of LASA

DECEMBER 2020

The Executive Council administers the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the Immediate Past President, President, Vice President, Treasurer, a Graduate Student, and six elected members), and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the LASA Executive Director, the Editor of the Latin American Research Review (LARR), the current Congress Program Chair(s), the Editor(s) of the Latin America Research Commons (LARC), and the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	To approve the minutes of the Executive Council meeting of June 2020 and the FODA summary that was completed in September 2020.	Vote: Unanimously approved
2	 Changes to the Dashboard": Further detail the "other" component of the disciplines. Analyze why the number of members from the Cuba section has dropped. Add information on Congress participants who do not present lectures. 	Vote: Unanimously approved
3	In the Kalman Silver Award Procedures Guide, add that if there are comparable candidates, to resolve, LASA service should be considered.	Vote: Unanimously approved
4	Expand the Investment Committee to analyze the Endowment composition policy ("Income" vs. "Appreciation") and the uses of revenues and present a report with suggestions that permit us to have more resources to make the congresses more inclusive, without jeopardizing the risk of LASA sustainability.	Vote: Unanimously approved

LASA 1

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
5	Maintain the current progressive system, adding 2 additional alternatives (applicable immediately):	Vote: Unanimously approved
	· Joint registration: \$400 fixed	
	· "Pay what you can": Open space to enter amount.	
	The receipt generated will come out as payment for registration in the Congress.	
6	Merge the Dialogue Committee with the Communications Committee.	Vote: Unanimously approved
7	The Communications Committee assumes coordination of LASA Dialogues.	Vote: Unanimously approved
8	Implement the professional development program (pilot) together with other organizations and mainly directed at students.	Consensus
9	Add the subject area of "Other Skills and Alternative Methods" (present in the 2017 – 2019 programs) as a permanent facet of the Congress and monitor how this area behaves during the year, and also add the subject area Afro and Indigenous Epistemology (featured in LASA2021) as a permanent facet of the Congresses.	Votes in favor: 7 Abstention: 1
10	Change the name of the area "Media Studies" to "Mass Media and Popular Culture".	Vote: Unanimously approved
11	Proposal to align the names of the tracks with the sections.	There is no consensus. Recommended that the Program Committee consult the sections to suggest names for possible "track chairs".
12	Proposal to eliminate the disciplinary subject areas of the Congress.	No consensus
13	Approve the proposed LARR editorial team proposed by the new editor Carmen Martínez Novo.	Vote: Unanimously approved
14	Approve the LARC editorial team proposed by the editorial committee.	Vote: Unanimously approved
15	Composition of "future slates". Maintain the current procedure.	Vote: Unanimously approved

GOVERNANCE

Executive Council Elected Members

Gioconda Herrera, President, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) Ecuador

Gerardo Otero, Vice President/President-Elect, Simon Fraser University

Mara Viveros-Vigoya, Past President, Universidad Nacional de Colombia*

María Josefina Saldaña-Portillo, Treasurer, New York University

Clara Arenas, Elected Member, Asociación para el Avance de las Ciencias Sociales en Guatemala (AVANCSO)

Claudia Mosquera, Elected Member, Universidad Nacional de Colombia

Suyapa Portillo, Elected Member, Pitzer College

Dara Goldman, Elected Member, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Verónica Schild, Elected Member, University of Western Ontario

Antonio Sérgio Guimarães, Elected Member, University of São Paulo**

Joseph Torres González, Student Representative, The City University of New York (CUNY)*

Executive Council Ex Officio Members

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Liliana Rivera, Program Co-Chair, Centro de Estudios Sociológicos de El Colegio de México

Ulla Berg, Program Co-Chair, Rutgers University

Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Editor of LARR, University of Notre Dame

Florencia Garramuño, Editor of LARC, Universidad de San Andrés*

Philip Oxhorn, Editor of LARC, Vancouver Island University*

Gilbert Joseph, Member of the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee, Yale University*

Timothy J. Power, Member of the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee, University of Oxford

Catalina Romero, Member of the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee, (PUCP)*

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 lasa@lasaweb.org

Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791



^{*}Absent

^{**}Partial attendance