Minutes of the Executive Council

SEPTEMBER 2024

The Executive Council oversees the affairs of the Association, and for corporate purposes shall be considered as its Board of Directors.

The Executive Council consists of: eleven voting members (the past president, the president, the vice president, the treasurer, a graduate student, and six elected members) and the following ex officio members with voice but no vote: the executive director of LASA, the Editor of Latin American Research Review (LARR), the current congressional program chairs, the editors of the Latin America Research Commons (LARC), the Strategic Plan Oversight Committee and two section advisory representatives.

	Action Items	Vote/Consensus
1	The minutes and the Action and Consensus Items of June 2024 were discussed and approved.	Vote: Approved unanimously (9 votes)
2	To improve inclusion, equality and diversity within LASA, it is approved to assign \$10,000 each to the Indigenous and Afro-Descendant and LGBTQIA+ travel funds from the Endowment.	Vote: Approved unanimously (9 votes)
3	Approval of the following LASA resolutions: 1. Reduce the deadline for members to vote on resolutions to one month and send three reminders to members during this period. 2. Resolutions will be passed by a simple majority if more than 20% of members vote. If between 15% and 20% of members vote, two-thirds are required for approval.	Vote: Approved unanimously (9 votes)

LASA 1

ABOUT

4	Regarding the request by the Chair of the Health Science and Technology section to rename the <i>Health and Wellbeing</i> track to match the name of the section.	Vote: The proposal to rename the <i>Health</i> and <i>Wellbeing</i> track was not approved (9 votes against).
5	The LASA building dates back to 1902 and requires an electrical upgrade. It is recommended that an advance of \$50,000 be approved for the overall electrical design, which will be reimbursed by a \$120,000 property tax rebate. This refund will come from the government, as LASA has obtained non-profit status and will therefore be exempt from paying property taxes in the future.	Vote: Approved unanimously (9 votes)

GOVERNANCE

Elected Members of the Executive Council

Javier Guerrero, President, Princeton University

Maxwell Cameron, Vice President / President Elect, University of British Columbia

Jo-Marie Burt, Past President, George Mason University

Mónica Espinosa Arango, Treasurer, Universidad de los Andes **

José Edgardo Cal Montoya, Elected Member, Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala

Cristián Opazo, Elected Member, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

Julieta Suarez-Cao, Elected Member, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile *

Xóchitl Bada, Elected Member, University of Illinois/Chicago **

Gloria Elizabeth Chacón, Elected Member, University of California / San Diego

Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, Elected Member, University of Notre Dame **

Verónica Valencia González, Student Representative, University of California, Irvine **

Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council

Milagros Pereyra-Rojas, Executive Director, University of Pittsburgh

Paola Cortes Rocca, Program Co-Chair, Conicet/Universidad Nacional de las Artes **

Emily A. Maguire, Program Co-Chair, Northwestern University **

Cecilia Fajardo-Hill, Program Co-Chair, Arizona State University **

Rosalva Aída Hernández Castillo, Sections Representative, CIESAS- México *

Beatriz Padilla, Sections Representative, University of South Florida *

Carmen Martínez Novo, Editor of LARR, University of Florida **

Natalia Majluf, Editor of LARC, Independent

Francisco Valdés Ugalde, Editor of LARC, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México *

Invited

Julieta Mortati, Latin America Research Commons (LARC) and LASA Forum Manager **

*Absent

**Partial attendance

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION

4338 Bigelow Blvd Pittsburgh, PA 15213 lasa@lasaweb.org

Tel: (412) 648-7929 Fax: (610) 492-2791

